Better Days

f2a543087be1f253b8b42bd1a25bb44fYesterday I was watching Goo Goo Dolls concert on Yahoo! Live. Goo Goo Dolls is one of my favourite bands of all time. Their song Better Days brings so much memories. When this song first came out, I was in middle school. I kept listening to it through out my high school years. When the lead singer was singing it yesterday and said “Just the chance that maybe we’ll find better days” I remembered when I used to sing along and believed wholeheartedly in this line.

When I was a teenager and a high school student, I would ask myself “when will this period of my life end?”. I wanted to finish high school quickly so that I can go to college, and after graduating I would land an amazing job and be an independent adult. I was naïve; I thought that my senior high school year was the worst time in my life. I had hopes for the future, and I’d never imagined that this is how things will go.

I wanted these days I’m living right now to be the “better days” that I was waiting for. I am lucky that for sometime it was, but then things took a different turn. I am now picking up the pieces of my shattered life. I still have hope that someday I will be living the “better days”. If I ever lose this hope, life would be meaningless.

Leave a Reply

