Smile

Last week I went to the orthodontist to remove my braces.  After almost four years, I am finally not a metal mouth. Now I can smile and laugh with confidence without covering my teeth with my hands (yes, I used to do that).

DSC01523

I was 9 years old when my permanent teeth set was complete. I have a small jaw, and that’s why my teeth were overcrowded. When I used to smile in photos and then see my crooked teeth I’d become so self-conscious about it. When I was 11 I stopped smiling in all my photos. I went to the orthodontist when I was 17 to get my braces. It took almost four years to be finished. It was a long painful process. I am lucky my orthodontists were great friendly people.

After I got my braces I still wouldn’t show my teeth in photos. After eleven years of hiding my smile I am finally able to smile to the camera. To be honest, I am still trying to get used to it; I find it hard to smile a full smile when my photo is being taken.

I am not writing this post to show off or anything. I just want to say that I regret not smiling confidently for ten years just because my teeth were crooked or because I had a metal device inside my mouth. Who cares if your teeth aren’t as perfect as Hollywood celebrities’?? You’re not hurting anyone if you smiled with a set of imperfect teeth. Be confident and show the world your smile. It doesn’t matter if your teeth are overcrowded, gapped, or you have and under bite.  All that matters is you smile, because your smile is always beautiful.

Leave a Reply

