8 Things I Wish I Knew In High School

I’ve been through high school and college. There are certain things I learned during those two experiences. I have to admit that I was a brat back in high school. I was a teenager who’s not easy to deal with. I made mistakes and apparently I made them again in college. I never listened, and that was my biggest problem. Anyway, here are the 8 things I wish I knew in high school that you probably ought to know yourself.

1. Study hard, it might save your a** later!
Pay attention to your studies. Knowledge is power. You can have fun all you want, but don’t forget to study because this is why you go to school in the first place.

2. Get over yourself because the world doesn’t revolve around you.
All that teenage drama is worthless. Trust me, no one cares! The earth is still rotating and life goes on.

3. Our parents know what they are talking about.
Yeah they do, so you better listen carefully next time! They have enough experience to give good advice.

4. Life is NOT easy, it never was, and never will be.
Don’t expect to go anywhere in life if you’re not willing to work hard. Again, you can ask your parents about that.

5. “Do what you love” is not always the right thing to do for a job.
It’s nice to go every morning to a job you love, but that’s not always the case. What you love to do can be your hobby during your spare time. As for a job, let me be frank with you, you need something that will put food on the table. What you love might not be available, or might not help you make living. Wait! I’ll take that one back.

6. Don’t be naïve, life can screw you up.
It’s good to be positive, but don’t forget to be realistic. Don’t expect that the moment you graduate high school you’re gonna get into a fine college, get a degree, graduate, get a high-paying job, get the car of your childhood dreams, and a stylish house! Although you can do all that, don’t expect it to happen easily and smoothly. Again check #4.

7. When it’s over, it’s over!
When high school/college is over, don’t start crying and get emotionally attached to it. I learned it the hard way. Apparently, you have to move on! Life is made of successive stages, you can’t get stuck in one of them. When it’s time to let go, you have to let go so that you can continue the journey of life.

8. And finally, enjoy it while it lasts.
Make friends, try new things, go out and see the world, and create everlasting memories. This could be the time of your life. You are still young and worry-free with no huge responsibilities, so enjoy it.

One thought on “8 Things I Wish I Knew In High School”

Leave a Reply

